BLACKSTONE RIVER STATE PARK
(H) Lower River Road, Quinnville. A river front park with walking paths, canoe portage, fresh water fishing. Historical walking tours along the canal tow path built in 1828. OPEN: Dawn to Dusk. 334-7773.
ELEAZER ARNOLD HOUSE
(NHL, SPNEA) 487 Great Road, Route 123. Most ambitious in form and scale of the few remaining Rhode Island stone-enders. The dwelling features a huge chimney as part of its southern wall and important timber framing. This type of 17th century architecture is unique to RI. OPEN: By appt. and on the second Sun of each month, Jun-Oct, 1-5 p.m. 364-7650, (617) 227-3956.
FRIENDS MEETING HOUSE (QUAKER) (1703, NR, #)
374 Great Road. Oldest meeting house in New England in continuous use. Sunday meetings, 10:30 a.m. OPEN: Tours by appt. from 10-3 p.m. 723-2515.
HANNAWAY BLACKSMITH SHOP. (#) (H)
671 Great Road, located along the Great Road Historic District. One-story, barn-like structure built in the late 19th century. Recently restored as a demonstrative blacksmith shop. Open for special events. OPEN: One Sunday afternoon per month, between Apr & Nov. Special tours can be arranged. 333-1100, Ext. 249.
NORTH GATE. (1807, NR) (H-3)
Old Louisquisset Pike, Route 246. Originally a toll-gate house for the Louisquisset Turnpike Co. Built in 1807, with later additions and renovations. Served as a hotel in mid-1800's. Houses library holdings pertaining to the Blackstone Valley. Small museum room with early 18th century furniture. Meeting hall and stage with unique illustrated curtain. Also, exhibit hall features items of interest on the limestone industry, the Grange and Lime Rock Fire Dept. OPEN: For monthly meetings, special events and by appt. 725-2847.